New Mudgee cricket season

Golf Club's Shane Saville.

Golf Club's Shane Saville.

The Mudgee and District Cricket Association 2016/17 gets underway tomorrow with 10 teams competing across two divisions, night cricket under lights at Victoria Park is also back and this year will feature a mid-season Twenty20 comp to change things up.

Four teams will contest Division 1; Golf Club, McDonald Lawson, Lawson Park Country, and Team 4 (with sponsorship yet to be finalised).

Six will compete in Division 2; Woolpack, Ori Bulls, Carpet Court, Home Décor, Paragon, and Barbarians.

The first division will play their normal competition from this weekend until November 19, before then playing a separate Twenty20 comp from November 26 to January 28 (excluding a Christmas break).

The Twenty20 will be six games and the winner first past the post, at its conclusion the normal 40 over season will resume.

Night games also return for this season after their introduction in 2015/16 and both divisions will have the opportunity to play under the Victoria Park lights.

The season opens with last season’s winners, Golf Club, taking on the previous champs McDonald Lawson at Victoria Park.

Golf Club are expected to be the pick of the top grade teams after finishing the 2015/16 regular season in third position then going on to defeat minor premiers Lawson Park Firsts in the grand final.

The Gulgong District Cricket Association 2016/17 got under way last Sunday with defending champions Gulgong RSL taking on Coolah at Billy Dunn Oval.

For that match report see Page 22.

MDCA Round 1 Draw, Saturday, October 15, 2016.


Golf Club v McDonald Lawson, Victoria Park

Lawson Park Country v Team 4, Gabba 1


Woolpack v Ori Bulls, Gabba 2

Carpet Court v Home Décor, Walkers 1

Paragon v Barbarians, Glen Willow


Discuss "New cricket season"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.