Tough terrain in Wellington for the 2017 Rock Crawling World Championship

American Jesse Haines took out the Unlimited Class title at the 2017 Rock Crawling World Championship at Wellington on the weekend.

It was two days packed with rock crawling action out at 12 Mile as 25 teams were challenged by tough terrain at the Peter Zell-owned property ‘Meath’ on 12 Mile Road.

Ultimate Rock Sports director, Chris Tierney, said the weekend was successful with perfect weather, a quality track and a good number of competitors. 

Around 300 spectators passed through the gates over the two days to observe drivers from as far away as America tackle the course. Drivers ranged in age from their early 20s to mid-60s in what doubled as a valuable experience for competitors.

“You’ve got the older more experienced drivers with years of driving under their belt, and then you have the younger guys who are keen to impress,” Tierney said.

“We had two world-class drivers from America – Jesse Haines and Justin Hall – but Aussie competitors were up there too, they battled hard against the Americans on their home soil.”

Tierney said while spectator numbers were down on last year’s championships, the quality of competition continues to improve. However the terrain at Wellington continued to prove difficult for many drivers to maneuver.

“The natural rock formations are quite unique because the competitors are elevated above the spectators,” Tierney said.

Organisers thanked the Zell family and sponsors for their ongoing support.

“Peter’s a great supporter of the sport and a big thanks for allowing us to use his wonderful property, and to the neighbours and local community,” he said.

Peter said he was happy to offer the use of his property for the weekend.

“We’re happy to support events in town, it’s entertaining and a good family orientated event,” he said.


Unlimited Class: First Jesse Haines (USA), second Justin Hall (USA), third Tim Scutt (Medowie).

Promod Class: First Steve Grima (Quakers Hill), second Marshal Bell (South Coast), third Matt Reicsma (Cranebrook). 

Trail Buggy Class: First Shannon Curry (South Coast), second Paul Llievski (South Coast), third Brad Wilkins (Lithgow).

Legend Class: First Rob Hutchinson (South Coast), second James Treweek (Hunter Region), third Rob Cole (Hunter Region).