Gilbert by Simon Gilbert and Robert Oatley Vineyard win at Mudgee Wine Show

A rosé wine from Gilbert by Simon Gilbert was named the Champion Wine of the Mudgee Wine Show at the awards presentation at di Lusso Estate on Friday evening. 

Gilbert’s  2016 Rosé Saignee was chosen from among winners of all classes after judging of more than 330 wines last week. 

Chairman of judges Mike DeGaris said the  chardonnay, rosé and the museum white classes were outstanding at this year’s show.

“For the champion wine of the night, we had six wines in the line up and we asked, is this wine the best we can get from this variety?” Mr De Garis said. 

“The rosé was certainly very strong.  Rosé is the fastest growing consumer segment in Australia and this gives this region another string to its bow. 

“It’s nice to have accolades in one variety, but it’s good for a region to have a number of strong varieties so we can give visitors the best of what they like.” 

Robert Oatley Vineyards was the most successful exhibitor of the show,  winning nine gold and nine bronze medals.  

Robert Oatley Vineyards also won the Bob Oatley Trophy for Best Chardonnay and Best White Wine Trophy, both for the Pocketwatch 2014 Chardonnay. 

Executive Chairman Sandy Oatley said his late father, Bob, would be delighted with the winery’s success. 

“He had long admired chardonnay and shiraz from the region, buying grapes as far back as thirty years ago and we’ve planted more vines and secured additional vineyards over the years,” Mr Oatley said.  

“The best have lasted and have produced these gold medal wines today.

“Chardonnay was without doubt my father’s favourite wine so we re-named the trophy we’ve sponsored for a few years now, the ‘Bob Oatley Trophy for the Best Chardonnay’ never planning that we might win for our own wine!”

“Our winemakers, headed by Larry Cherubino and led locally by Rob Merrick and Marc Udy, should be proud of these results which will certainly help reinforce the Mudgee region’s wine quality with both consumers and critics alike,” Mr Oatley said. 

Other trophy winners were: 

  • Storyteller Wines (Best Cabernet);
  • Heslop Wines (Best Red Wine not Shiraz or Cabernet and Most Outstanding Red Wine); 
  • Bunnamagoo (Most Outstanding Sweet Wine); 
  • Miramar (Best Museum White Wine); 
  • Peterson’s of Mudgee (Best Semillon and Best Mudgee Classic Blend); 
  • 1838 (Best Sparking Wine of the Show);
  • Vinifera Wines (Best Organic/Biodynamic/Preservative Free Wine);
  • Robert Stein (Best White Wine not chardonnay or Semillon); 
  • Huntington Estate (Best Shiraz and Best Fortified Wine). 
Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide